Shearing time and spring chickens

shornewes_03232013

My 15 crossbred ewes just after shearing on March 23, 2013. They are primarily Dorset-Suffolk cross.

fleecesinthetruck_03232013
These fleeces just came off my 15 ewes. The nicer fleeces are from the ewes that are mostly Dorset. Usually we put the fleeces in a wool bag, but I haven’t sold my 2012 wool yet, and I have only one wool bag..

Time to shear. The concept is that before the ewes lamb it is good to “clean them up” a little so that when the baby lambs try to find milk, they don’t end up sucking on dirty wool. Wool isn’t worth much these days; it doesn’t even pay for the shearing. We sheared yesterday. Ron and his son sheared 15 ewes in 45 minutes. I was the “catcher” and they did the shearing. Each fleece probably weighed from 5-8 lbs. depending on the size of the ewe.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

blackaustralorps03232013

Several of my Black Australorp hens. They are 13 months old and happy to be outside in their yard after a long winter of cold wind and snow.

My Black Australorp hens lay about 10 eggs a day now. Egg production slows way down during the short days of the winter and then picks back up when the days lengthen. I bought these hens 13 months ago as day-old little fluff balls; they started laying eggs in July 2012.

Leave a Reply

